Dear Mr Cameron

Sir,

I am told there are thousands of languages on earth that are in the process of going extinct. Might I suggest, to you and your ultra-rich colleagues, that next time you need a different language, instead of hiring someone to make one up, why don’t you use a real language that is rare, and going extinct.

UNESCO has a list of 429 languages that have between 1000 – 5000 speakers. That way, Hollywood would be preserving actual cultures, as opposed to homogenizing everything.

How freaking awesome would it be to have nerds going around attempting to speak Koryak, instead of Klingon, Na’vi or Esperanto?  Although, maybe in today’s day-n-age, people prefer to pretend to do something (GuitarHero, RealDoll, Sims, chess,… ) than actually do it.

I know, the special effects be they makeup, digital, or linguistic are there to serve the story. But, my follow up question, and I do not know because I’ve seen neither film, but I have heard that your Avatar has the same plot as Fern Gully, it this true? And nothing wrong with reusing a plot. I hear Shakespeare did it all the time.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Dear Mr Cameron”

  1. NewsCat Says:

    I can’t fault the criticism of the plot of Avatar, but what I will add is that seeing it in 3D, or even IMAX 3D did change my opinion of why I went to the movie in the first place. There is a scene of the characters standing on a floating mountain. I realized that watching it in 3D it was the closest I would come to such a viewpoint of my own. In fact if I could really have stood on such a mountain I would be freaked out by the height. So vicarous experience did add a different dimension than just “watch a story unfold.”

    Yes the old 360 theaters used to mimic the experience of people riding on roller coasters or flying in hot air balloons. But you can do those things in real life. I want to stand on a tiny floating rock and wait for my flying lizard to come pick me up. That was worth $15 in my opinion.

  2. :-jon Says:

    oh…I hadn’t thought of that NewsCat. Good point.

Leave a Reply

