The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. I was reading another book, MyBetterHalf was reading Hunger Games, I took a glance, sneaked the first few pages, and I was hooked.

Premise, is exactly my cup of tea. Dystopian future, children are then thrown into a fight to the death for the televised amusement of the powerful. The heroine is a tough girl who’s been supporting her family since her father was killed in a mining explosion.

This was certainly no Ender’s Game, less than  Lord of the Flies, not equal to The True Story of Hansel & Gretel, not as good as most of the dystopian tales I read a couple summers ago. It was entertaining, but I felt let down when the heroine was in an impossible situation, and twice, the author had an easy way to avoid the impossible. Yes, I would have liked the book more, it had been more horrible of a situation.  None-the-less, it gave me a captivating read for a few hours.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

