Ms Squeaky stories

The other morning, while we were getting ready to go, I was a bit stressed, and I yelled at MrGrunty. He burst into crying at being yelled at, which of course didn’t help the getting-ready-to-go-now situation. I walked away. MsSqueaky stormed after me, went right up to me and with tears welling up in her eyes, yelled, “Papa! We don’t yell at people, OK! That’s not nice.” and before I could answer she turned and walked over to her brother, “It’s OK Grunty, it’s OK.”   I am so very proud of my daughter standing up for what is right, and protecting her brother.

Later, as I was dropping them off at school, I apologized to MrGrunty. He said, a bit of sadness still in his voice, “Papa, we only yell at the yelling place. OK?”  I asked him where that was. His beautiful eyes looked up, and then slowly rolled to the left as he thought about the answer, “The yelling place is far away.”

Yesterday, I had promised MsSqueaky that we would have Papa-&-Squeaky time on Saturday. So, she woke up at 5:45AM, Saturday morning, and told me, “I want Papa & Squeaky time”. I tried to explain it was still sleeping time. She tried to wait, tried to rest, but she was just too excited. Eventually, at 9:30AM, she and I left to go to Sky Nursery. When we got there, we got a hot chocolate, she helped me pick out seeds, and we wandered around.

Last night, MrGrunty was running, and that spooked Oliver-kitty, who was already stressed out and nervous because Sophie-kitty smelled like the vet, and Oliver hissed at MrG. This freaked MrG out and he ran away and was crying. A moment later, I heard MsS yelling, “Oliver! That’s not nice. You’re a bad kitty. You go to time out!”  When I went to the scene, MsSqueaky was there still, pointing at Oliver, and she was completely naked.

Today, she helped me with building the tricycle for MrCuddles while the other kids were napping. MrC must have known she helped, because tonight he walked up to her and gave her a big hug.

Tonight, while MrG and I were playing basketball, MsSqueaky decided we would play marching band. And got her brothers to stand in line, with instruments, and then marched us all to their bedroom.

Leave a Reply

