Jane Eyre

I’m not sure how much I liked the book. I did like the character of Jane.  It started off great, got a bit boring in the middle, ended alright. I still don’t see what Jane saw in dude, maybe it was the conversation, though he seemed condescending to me.

great quotes:

“My habitual mood of humiliation, self-doubt, forlorn depression, fell damp on the embers of my decaying ire.”

“Children can feel, but they cannot analyze their feelings; and if the analysis is partially effected in thought, they know not how to express the result of the process in words.”   (something for me to remember as a parent)

And what I found moving: “Its garden, too, glowed with flowers: hollyhocks had sprung up tall as trees, lilies had opened, tulips and roses were in bloom; the borders of the little beds were gay with pink thrift and crimson double daisies; the sweetbriars gave out, morning and evening, their scent of spice and apples; and these fragrant treasures were all useless for most of the inmates of Lowood, except to furnish now and then a handful of herbs and blossoms to put in a coffin.”

This was one of the books for me & MyBetterHalf’s “Classic book of the month” club. I may have to drop out for a bit, to catch up with some easy and quick reads to meet my goal of 30 books this year.  ( I finally get 24 books last year, and I think I can do a 25% improvement. Silly me!)

Leave a Reply

