Presidents’ Day weekend

Saturday – I  went to a work function in the morning, trying to recruit students to come to Seattle for school, even though we were having one of the worst rain storms in past few years. One of the visitors said, “But I always thought it was like this”. No, normally it drizzles, and it’s warmer, and the winds are less.

Saturday evening, I went refrigerator shopping. Lucky for me, we don’t have a big space, so I had to pick a small one, so it limited my options, and the pricing, so I felt much better aboot the experience.

Sunday, I did not teach. I felt a bit bad aboot that, but, as Leena said, “Sometimes you need time off.” So, she had all the kids, three years old through third grade in one class, and they did finger paints. MrGrunty stared at his picture for a while, and didn’t want to get his fingers dirty, after a bit, Leena found a brush for him to use. MrCuddles had lots of fun, and surprisingly little paint got on his shirt, even though he refused to wear a smock, I had to be careful when he ran to hug me. I was very pleased that when I took the childrens to their Bible class, they stayed easily, and without drama or trauma.  And while I was in worship, the sermon covered one of my favorite parts of the Bible from when I was a kid, Ephesians 6:10-17, putting on the whole armor of God. However, PastorSandy used The Message version, and there was little talk of actual armor and swords.

After Church, we visited the TikiLodge for lunch. Andre and MrCuddles were often fighting over toys.

After that, I took the childrens back to Richmond beach, and we went up north a bit, and hid behind a sand dune to get out of the chill of the wind. Yes, we threw rocks into the Sound. Yes, MrCuddles took off his boots & socks. MsSqueaky cleaned the sand out of a big clam shell, and was climbing all over driftwood. She wanted to climb in and on a driftwood castle, I told her I too wanted to, but it probably wasn’t stable, and wouldn’t be safe, so we should climb in there. No trains. On the way back, MsSqueaky fell while running and scrapped her hands and knees.

Monday morning, I went to drop in play time. MrG didn’t want to be in the nursery, so we got Leena to open up the other room. And soon, all the kids that could walk, were in there playing with me…we played, build the castle, Giant chasing kids, kids are hiding…. except for MrCuddles. He stayed in the nursery, and seemed to be perfectly content playing all by himself, and not needing to share his toys. Leena also tells me he was making faces of himself in the mirror, but quit before she could get a photo. I am also told by JenBud, that he is very cuddly. She picked him up, and he just snuggled right into her. “That’s why he’s MrCuddles,” I said.

After, we stopped by a construction dig project. Right across the street from a park, incidentally next to where Moonbeam and I lived years ago. There were at least four excavators, at least two bulldozers, and every few minutes a big truck and trailor were filled and drove off.

After lunch, we went their future school, and they brought their babies and strollers and raced under the covered areas of the playground. Then raced across the muddy soccer field.This time MsS did a tumble over her stroller.

(Later, when taking off her pants, the bandages on MsS knees were coming off. She started to freak out. I was going to help, but she refuses to let me touch bandages. I told her, “You are a good kid doctor, you need to take those icky bandages off, and put new ones on.”  And she did, and was very proud about it.)

This morning, MrCuddles was playing xylophone, while singing “Twinkle Twinkle Traffic Light”. He  was playing every quarter note, and was varying the pitch played.  🙂

And …Happy Ash Wednesday, here’s  a story for you ….

Leave a Reply

