Family Reunion part 1

Thursday, August 2nd, in the morning we took off of the wilds of Spokane. We had to make it out of Seattle before they closed the bridge for the  Blue Angels to practice over the lake. We stopped at a park on Mercer Island and played, watched the jets practice, and…played a bit of baseball. MrG wanted me to go ask other kids to play with us. We went together, I did the asking, and when the kid said yes, I told them to go ask their parent. MrG was getting frustrated that the kid, only four, was not a good hitter, and even worse, when the kid wanted to pitch, MrG got very frustrated.

Friday, was day of fun at the Waterfront Park, you know the place of the 1974 (?) World’s Fair Exhibition. We basically split up, me & MrCuddles spent the day together. Sometimes we would be with everyone else, other times just he & I.  The first thing the childrens went on was a Plane-ride, only for kids. They each got their own plane, circled around, and could use stick to go up or down. It was very cute, MsSqueaky was in the air, and shouting down, “Grunty, get the stick if you want to go up!”  She cheered when he figured it out.  I took MrCuddles on his first roller-coaster, I was surprised he liked it, maybe even more than me. He liked saying “Weeeeee!!!!”   The Ferris Wheel was a bit scary for me, but, I just concentrated on noticing the tops of the the pine trees… lots of very sappy pine cones. Why is that?  Later, he wanted to go chase sea-gulls, and wander around.  We also went on gondola over Spokane River (wow, it was hot in there!)  and the train ride tour of the park.  Lots of fun.

So, my little niece K, who is almost out of high school, is in a band,  FiveTimesOver, they are earning cash from gigs, and right now are mastering their CD. Yesterday, they were listening to it, and one of the guitarists was grumpy that his really cool guitar harmony parts were lost in the mix. I remember, when I used to think that the guitar was at least equally important as the song. Pro’lly in part from reading the hero-worshipping guitar magazines in the 90s.  But now, I realize that people don’t walk down the street singing guitar parts. (Well…I sometimes do…)

Saturday, Family reunion.  Well, since I don’t like mingling with strangers… I asked the kids, “who wants to play baseball”.  Luckily, a lot of kids did. We tried to make it “fun” focused… no stealing, no strike-outs, let the little kids have a chance. The older kids got it, some of the younger kids were trying to win.  MsSqueaky & MrGrunty were captains, and chose teams, I was usually permanent pitcher, unless one side was down people.  MsSqueaky got bored, and the sun was in her eyes, so she ran off to play with other kids on the playground.  MrGrunty was in heaven, baseball with the big kids. He was cheering for his team and dancing when they got a run, (one of the kids complained, “why can’t he be quiet, that’s so annoying”.  I tried to explain.)  MrG got out a couple of times, once he even cried, but he needs to learn that sometimes you get out. He got a couple of RBI, which his team cheered him for. My favorite part, when he was up to bat, someone said, “move in close”, and MrG, used to my pitching, hit the ball over their heads. “Wow!” they exclaimed. Often, he still wasn’t fast enough to make it to first base, but he still had incredible amount of fun.

Later that night… we played baseball, and other games, in grandparents front yard. MsSqueaky saw a girl across the street, and we went to ask her if she would like to play with us. I am trying to encourage my childrens to be more outgoing than I am.

Sunday morning. Me & MsSqueaky were the first ones awake. She showed me how to dress one of her babies, then I asked if she wanted to draw with me. Side by side we drew a polar bear. I would draw one part, like the nose, and she would do the same. She got frustrated at her mistakes for drawing the feet. Next, she wanted to draw a surprise for me, I wasn’t allowed to look.  She drew a picture of me, riding on a tractor!

Leave a Reply

