June stories part 1

MrGrunty was invited to a bounce house birthday party, for one of his friends who is moving back East. MsSqueaky was a bit jealous, even after we reminded her that she went solo to a party the previous week.

So…as luck would have it, there is another set of twins at MrGunty and MsSqueaky’s kindergarten classes, and they have mid-June birthday also. We were approached, and heartily agreed with the idea of a joint twins birthday bash. All the kindergartners were invited, and it was at a pool.

After cake, we had a bit of time to play before our pool reservation. Yes, we fed them cake before tossing them into the water. Outside, before our pool reservation, I foolishly challenged them to a game of freeze tag. When we were agreeing to the rules they were talking about bases, I said “No bases. If you get tired, rest when you are frozen.” Well, as suspected, I didn’t do very good solo against a dozen kids. I enlisted MissEllie, one of my third grade students from Bible Class to help me. We could tag a few more, but the kindergartners were clever enough to use distracts and diversion to unfreeze each other. Also, they discovered that ten of them screeching at top volume makes me cover my ears and run away. They found it hilarious when I covered my ears and ran, but seriously, it was loud and painful.

The pool. My childrens mostly stayed in the shallow end. MsSqueaky had a meltdown when water got on her swim goggles. I did take MsS over to the deep end and put her on a raft and pushed her around. She liked that as long as I stayed close. MrG was playing catch with his friends.

I thought the party a success. Lots of kids, got to see lots of parents. Since not at our house, not a mess. ( In the week after at school, a lot of parents told me it was a good party.)

The following Tuesday, June 18th…MsSqueaky was going on a field trip to the beach, and I got to be a chaperon. I was impressed watching the teacher be in control of the class, have them listen, getting them to line up and stay organized. Wow. It was just play at the beach time, I was assigned MsS and two of her friends, friend-J and friend-C. It was perfect weather. The children played in the sand, making sand castles and sand-soup, climbed over logs…they even set up a teeter-toter using drift wood. (MsS fell off.) It was a lot of fun, MsS was very happy that I was there. She was practically glowing with her smile at me. I loved it. I must do it more next year.

Thursday, June 20th was MrGrunty’s class was having a moving up ceremony. They were also having a “camp out” in their classroom. All the desks and chairs were pushed to the back of the room. They brought sleeping bags, stuffed animals, and spread out their sleeping bags on the floor around a “camp fire” made of Xmas lights. I joined them for lunch in the lunchroom, MrG was proud giving me instructions on what to do, and where to go. (I also got a big smile and wave from MsS from her table.).

Recess, was crazy. The girls ran off to monkey bars, the boys ran off to kickball. There was no ref, it was chaotic, arguing about rules, switching teams, switching positions…there was one boy, better than the rest, who would be called a ball hog. ( I’m told this is normal at this age, they are focusing on skill learning, self-centered…they seldom even think about sharing the ball. They’re just not at that developmental level yet.). I did a bit of pitching for kickball. Now MsS’s friend-C wanted to play. But was not assertive enuff to get her turn. After a few minutes, she and I went a few feet away so she could practice kicking. I did that for a few minutes, and then went to see MsS for a few minutes. (After recess, Friend-C scolded me for wasting time and not playing ball with her.)

The moving on up ceremony… MyBetterHalf joined us, sitting on his sleeping bag while eating hotdogs from the “camp out”. Some of the parents had an idea since it was MsNelson’s last year. Each child had a rose, and in single file line, and were instructed to say something they liked about her, to MsNelson. MrG started getting upset because he didn’t know what to say. He was almost in tears when it was his turn, we told him he could just give her the rose.

The next day was the last day of school, we went for donuts for breakfast. The kindergartners only had a half day, then for after school care, they went bowling.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

