Soccer game day

Following the tradition of attempting to do things I am unqualified for, I am coaching MrGrunty’s soccer team. MsSqueaky is also on a team. Today is their respective first official games.

Last night, MsS told me she doesn’t want to play in the game. I think she’s nervous because she went on to say “what if the other team gets a lot of points.” I told her she doesn’t have to play if she doesn’t want to. That mommy and papa love her very much and are very proud of her. That she does need to go to the game, wear her uniform and cheer for her team. And, that I think she will have fun if she’s in the game for a few minutes. She asked how long, and seemed to be relieved the game is only 40 minutes.

Last night, MrGrunty was worried about the other team getting more goals, and asking who’s the best on his team. I told him it doesn’t matter if the other team gets fifty points. And that I didn’t know who was the best on his team, but that they all are good at something.

Last night, MrCuddles helped me pick out a neck tie at the store. Wanting to pretend I’m a coach, I’m inspired to sorta dress like Sir Alex Ferguson, and will be wearing a suit jacket and have a tie that matches our team colors. ( Pro tip, if you need a bright neon lime green neck tie at 9:30 on a Friday night, Ross is the place to go. )

Leave a Reply

