game of Thrones book 4

I’ve said that reading a chapter of George RR Martin is like having a scoop of ice cream.

Well, reading book 4 was like having my parents take me to ice cream, then telling me that they had given my dog away, and were going to send me away to live with mean aunt Burtha in Mongolia.

I don’t have the time or energy to invest into something that is sad, and is fantasy. If I want long and depressing, I’ll read about the Aztec and Incas. If I want political intrigue, I’ll read about the rise of Islam, or Byzantium. Or if i do want depressing escapism’ Shakespeare, the play is over in four hours and he’s a better writer.

Don’t tell me it’s realistic…there are dragons and magics. It’s fantasy, read as escapism.

Sure, I get that you want to keep your readers on their toes. But at this point, it’s no surprise, they are dead, or soon will be dead. The new characters, I don’t care about. They’re boring, and will probably be dead soon anyway.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

