10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord)

Song of the now, “10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord)

I first heard it in worship last Sunday. It moved me, and I laughed to myself, “you gotta be kidding me!” I thought at the third verse….

“And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come”

I let myself cry a few tears…but not too many, I was afraid of totally breaking down and sobbing, and I was teaching Bible class in ten minutes. (The show must go on.)

(Bible class went great, my students have learned all I can teach them and need someone better. I am very proud of them, and it has been a joy to watch them grow. I told that to one of the dad’s, that his daughter had grown so much, from very shy, very quiet, to enunciating slow, clear and loud while performing a play. We put on a “Isaiah, summed up in ten minutes or less” play for the younger class. MrGrunty found the production boring. MsSqueaky complained it wasn’t a real play. Whatever, it went as well as I had hoped, better than I expected.)

Context?
So, my mother-in-law was diagnosed with breast cancer too few years ago. Last Friday, they took her to hospice care, in her own home. MyBetterHalf flew back to Spokane Friday afternoon.
She was talkative to people on Friday, but as of Saturday, she didn’t say anything. It is sweet that some of her last word to MyBetterHalf were regarding making sure she brushed her teeth, and that she went to bed. A Mom to the end. All her children were there with her when she passed away.

After church I was told that my Mother-in-law had passed away. I was at work, trying to catch up on a few things. The childrens were with me. I gathered them to the sofa, and told them that grandma had died and was now in heaven. MrGrunty was shocked, and snapped at me “don’t talk about that”. MsSqueaky put her face on the sofa. MrCuddles asked “really?”

(We had warned them a few weeks ago that grandma-in-Spokane was really sick, and would not get better, and soon would go to heaven to see God, get hugs from Jesus, and not be sick any more. They didn’t really get it.)

The childrens miss their mommy. Especially MrCuddles. The other night he was whimpering for “mommy” in his sleep.

Side note, MrCuddles is sitting next to me, playing “10,000 reasons” on my phone, learning and singing along. “I like this song,” he told me when he quit playing to come and sit next to me and listen to the song.
Me too.
Me too.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

