Jury duty

Oh yeah…I was called for jury duty.

Pro-tip, don’t defer to the week when school is out, because the jury pool will be filled with college students. And it seems to me, that no lawyer wants a college student to make it out of voir dire.

I really wasn’t looking forward to going…but the room manager was fun, and the judge who gave an intro really encouraged the patriotic part of jury duty. Where normal citizens participate every day.

The jury I was called for, the defendant was accused of escaping from custody. I’m sure that would’ve been entertaining. But I was too far back, and didn’t get to serve. Was amused by the white guy saying “I don’t have any bias” and later finding out of of the college students is studying bias. (Neither made it through voir dire.)

Leave a Reply

