Stories

For some reason, the childrens have a bunch of balloons, and since it is hot, you guessed it, they like to make and throw water balloons. I have refused to help them in this endeavor. So, for a while they would fill up the balloon, and hold the end, and toss it. MrG had a game, where he would try to run across the deck before all the water squirted out of the balloon, calling it his “peeing baby”. One day, after MsS, very frustrated that I wouldn’t blow up a balloon for her, blew it up on her own, and was so very excited. The next day, when I came home she exclaimed with joy on her face, “Papa, I can tie the balloon all by myself.”
The childrens have been setting up a carnival on our deck. MsS had an obstacle course, have to dribble the basketball around some cones a certain number of times, (MrG wanted to make sure he was doing the exact number), then balance on a 2×4, then dribble a soccer ball. Then get a prize.

Soccer… MsS has been a bit, not so interested in soccer. Her team is having little off-season get-togethers on the soccer field. It has been hot. So I can understand her not wanting to run around. But another thing that worries me, her twin brother is better than her, and it bothers her. She and I chatted one morning while I was walking her to the playground at camp after dropping offer her brothers. She was doing cart-wheels. I pointed out to her that MrG plays soccer all the time, and MrG cannot do cartwheels. Everyone is better at different things, and the more you do something, the better you get. For instance, I told her, she is better than anyone else in the family at monkey bars.

Speaking of jealousy. The other day, while dropping off the childrens at camp, a bunch of the ~4th grade girls stopped their activity, and came up to give MrC a hug. MrG looked at me and said, “See, everybody likes MrC”.

Leave a Reply

