Birthday party day

This morning, MrCuddles, grinning, woke me up, “hi Papa. Do you have something to say to me? Happy….” And he waited. Oh yeah, Happy Party Day!

He invited friends over for a Seahawks themed party. And me, and the children’s thought up some fun games, based off of football, for the party-goers to do. We tested them out to, to make sure we could explain to each other, and then would be able to demonstrate to MrC’s friends. MsS really got into it, and drew up a play, with instructions, diagrams, and a key/legend. MrGrunty assured me he would go easy on the little kids, but medium on the bigger kids. They kept playing the games* after we tested them, so I knew the games would be a hit and I would get Good-Dad-Points.

Party time…they started just playing freeze tag. Later I asked…no, MrC didn’t want to do the games. Later? No. They were just running and playing and having fun. They did paint figurines, bash a piñata, eat pizza and watch Minions movie.

Then slumber party. They were using teamwork to stay awake. One boy would make a noise, and then other five would march out of the room to tell. Eventually I split the six boys up into pairs in different rooms… And finally, by ten, I think most of them were asleep.

*I’m happy aboot that, because I’m trying to minimize their screen time, and the first hour MrG throws a fit (“I thought you loved me!”) and then, he’ll play and have fun with his siblings, after wailing, then pouting, then being bored.

Leave a Reply

