catching up with 2016 – election results

In the days before the election, I remember thinking, looking at the popular website FiveThirtyEight, which gave Trump like a 30% of winning. And teams with a 30% chance of winning, win all the time.

That night, I remember watching the results roll in, thinking, it’s over, when we went to bed.

The next morning, I had the job of telling the childrens. Best they hear it from me, than from someone at school, right. Of course, they growing up in Seattle area, with a couple liberal parents, of course they wanted Secretary Clinton to win. And of course they have heard plenty of the bad accusations of Mr. Trump.

When I told them the news, that MrTrump won:

  • MrGrunty reacted like his favorite sports team lost
  • MsSqueaky said  “but __ is Mexican”
  • MrCuddles said “They won’t build a wall. The people who voted for him won’t want to pay it, it costs too much money. Like $137. Or more!!”

I explained to them, that we all pay taxes….congress decides how to spend it.
I addressed MrTrump, as “President Elect Trump”, because that’s what he is.

Now that I think of it, I had laughed at MrC use of $137, but maybe that’s about how much the wall would cost for each person who voted for Trump.

 

Leave a Reply

