presidential musings

I did say, more than once, “all I’m asking for in the next presidential election is two articulate candidates.” When was the last time that happened? Was it Reagan vs Carter? Because Bush, Gore, Kerry, Bush weren’t articulate. BobDole almost was, but kept refering to himself in the third person.

So, if I may, I would like to have an andendum to my presidential wish list.
(Following the styling of Zorloc, but not nearly as well thought out)

1) State’s rights. I am a big fan, got me to like BobDole, even though not sure if I voted for him or not. But on alot of issues. I’m getting a little sick of everybody using the Commerce Clause as a justification for the federal government to be interferring with the states. If Oregon wants Physician Assisted Suicide and legalized marijuana, fine. If California wants to make car manufacturers make cars with better gas mileage / less polluting, fine. If Alabama thinks 150 days of school are enough for a child, fine. If Lousisiana wants to have drive through margirihita huts, fine. If Montanna wants a highway speed limit of 120 miles per hour, fine, I can get through Montanna faster. Here’s the thing, there is no right answer, alot of issues are best handled locally. And, especially with education, if you have 50 states doing different things, you have 50 experiments going on, and hopefully the states can learn from each other.

2) Iraq. Seriously, what is your plan? Be creative! How about this, engage with Iran on the issue. Iran and Turkey both have a vested interest in a stable Iraq, because they don’t want Kurdish freedom fighters roaming the boarders.

3) Drug war. Time to rethink that fiasco.

4) Can you control the budget? How? Because if Congress is the same party as you, they’ll spend my tax dollars like a debutant with daddy’s credit card.

5) Social security. My generation basically feels we ain’t ever gonna see a dime of it. Can we quit paying into it already?

…I’m sure there’s more…

Leave a comment