Family Life – Akhil Sharma

this book is very life like: as in meandering, without a plot, and chaotic. Filled with sections of boring, descriptions of the mundane, and inconsistent characters.

  • kid has conversations with god…could be interesting, but only lasted a few pages
  • kid has first girl friend…could be interesting, but only lasted a few pages
  • dad becomes alcoholic…and a few pages later has recovered
  • Last two pages…. and I quote, because there are no spoilers in a story without a plot: “I didn’t know Hema well, but I took her to a resort in Mexico….The happiness was almost heavy. That was when I knew I had a problem.”
  • That’s it. The whole book is about unhappy life, because his family is dealing with living in a new country. AND his family is living with oldest son tragically brain damaged suddenly. But we end the book by protagonist suddenly becoming happy.

I don’t get it – Akhil Sharma is a professor of creative writing.

I don’t get it – evidently NYT Book Review listed this as top ten books of 2014.

SIDE NOTE: I hear by give permission to MyBetterHalf and MyChildrens to allow me to die if I am in a brain damaged coma and cannot respond.

Leave a comment